gosling squad

Current situation: Not breathing.

HOLD UP HOLD UP HOLD UP. ALL CAPS!!! CAN WE JUST TAKE A MOMENT TO APPRECIATE RYAN GOSLING IN GANGSTER SQUAD??!!!? NO I WILL NOT REMAIN CALM, I CAN BARELY BREATHE.

HIS CHARACTER. HIS SMART-ASS MOUTH. THAT GUN SLINGING. HIS VOICE. HIS FEDORA. THOSE CONSTANTLY WET LIPS.

Okay, breathing. Kind of….NOPE JUST KIDDING I’M NOT OVER IT. RYAN FREAKING GOSLING. NOT A MAN, A LITERAL WORK OF ART!!! SOMEBODY CALL 911, I’M DYING!

gs-characterposter1

Okay for real this time.  Granted, I am NO film critic, but I’m giving you my opinion anyways. First of all, I actually enjoyed Gangster Squad, even though every review I read online told me not to. Plot schmot, when I watch a movie I want to be entertained. Which I thoroughly was!! I enjoyed it so much that when I tried explaining the movie to a friend, all that came out of my mouth was, “It was super funny and really good and I liked it!!”. I’m sorry, WHAT? Apparently the grammatical functioning of my brain decided to shut down. I got that excited about the movie. Full of shoot-em-up action, solid characters that were well portrayed (I’m talking to you, Sean Penn), tons of humour, and of course…Ryan Gosling. For me, he absolutely made the movie.

tumblr_m3s7zmuQOI1qjaa1to1_1280

My favourite actors of all time are Robert Downey Jr. and Bradley Cooper, who have and always will have my heart. I’ve always admired Ryan Gosling for his godly looks (brb, getting a tissue to wipe up my drool), but boy did he prove himself to me as an actor. Again…NOT a film critic. Yes, I loved his tearjerking performance in the Notebook and he nailed the smart ass bachelor in Crazy Stupid Love. But I was never inclined to keep up with his filmography, nor did either movie really become a favourite of mine (though I really enjoyed both) (***UPDATE, see below). But his character in Gangster Squad?! FLAWLESS. Ryan (yea, we’re on first name basis) was so believable with that tilted fedora and unforgiving gun hand. And he was sassy, sassy, sassy. I laughed, I cried, and I admired that adorable smile of his.

Ryan has earned his spot as one of my favourite actors now. I have gone from loving him to LOVING him.

MV5BMjA1NDM0Mjk5NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzEyNjQ4OA@@._V1._SX640_SY450_

Ryan Gosling, you talented and handsome devil, you.

XX, K

***UPDATE***

Ok, so I lied. I just rewatched Crazy, Stupid, Love and I am appalled at myself that I thought I wasn’t absolutely in love with Ryan back then. I am a terrible person. I guess Gangster Squad just made me fall in love all over again, thinking it was new found infatuation. Ryan Gosling, I am sorry I denied our love, please forgive me!!!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

what do YOU have to say?

