let’s talk about lace

Help me. My fashion addictions are seriously dangerous, and this one is no exception. Lace. Oh my god, lace.

If a shirt has even a panel of lace in it, my crazy little mind convinces itself that the shirt was made just for me and I need to buy it. I don’t know what it is about it, but I can’t get enough! LACE-A-HOLICS UNITE! From runway to red carpet to street, lace is everywhere. And each take on lace is so unique! From edgy to flirtatious, everyone incorporates it differently. The trend seems to be one that will stick around for a long time.

Alexander McQueen had models in intricate lace headpieces for Spring/Summer 2012. For me, they stole the show! Each piece totally complimented his line. I just wish it would be cool to wear these on an average day…could you imagine me strutting across campus in this?!!

Alexander McQueen S/S '12

Alexander McQueen S/S ’12

One of my style icons, Blake Lively, rocked the lace trend on an episode of Gossip Girl. And OH MY GOD I just about died. The Zuhair Murad number she was in took away all my mental processes and all I could do was drool. This is lace at its finest!

Blake Lively in Zuhair Murad

Blake Lively in Zuhair Murad

As gorgeous as those dresses are, and how painful it is remembering you can’t afford them, sometimes you need a more practical punch. Joie, a chic contemporary brand, makes it easy to incorporate lace into your every day wardrobe! Joie does lace exceptionally well, from pants to beautiful tops in a variety of colours and subtle variances in style. Layer a flowy silk underneath and you are good to go (or dare to wear just a black bra…)!! Below is the Joie ‘All Over Lace Elvia Top’…watch out, you just might fall in love! (Buy Joie herehere, or here)**

JOIE-WS412_V1

All Over Lace Elvia Top by Joie

And there you have it, my love for lace. If you’re not drooling by now, you’re either a man or not entirely human.

XX, K

** Edmonton followers! You can buy Joie at Yu Fashion: Clothing and Accessories!!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

what do YOU have to say?

